University of Bergen Delegation Visits OUC

On October 24, 2019, Prof. Nils Gunnar Kvamstø, Dean of Marine Sciences, Ms. Benedicte Løseth, Director of the Division of Research and Innovation, and Dr. Susanna Pakkasmaa, Coordinator for the Norwegian Marine University Consortium from the University of Bergen (UiB) visited Ocean University of China (OUC). OUC’s Vice President Li Huajun received the guests.

Vice President Li said that the cooperation between the two universities has seen rapid progress, as the building of the Sars-Fang Research Center for Marine Molecular Biology and China-Norway Marine University Alliance is going on smoothly, an effort which has also been staunchly supported by the two countries’ governments. Details of the two joint institutes should be further discussed while more opportunities for cooperation in marine sciences explored.

Prof. Nils Gunnar Kvamstø gave an overview of UiB and its marine scientific research. He hoped to deepen the cooperation with OUC to facilitate high-level cooperation and exchanges between China and Norway.

Ms. Benedicte Løseth introduced the International Technology Cooperation Project of Norway. Dr. Susanna Pakkasmaa gave an overview of the Norwegian Marine University Consortium and strengths of each member university. The two sides discussed future plans and details of relevant cooperation projects.

Mr. Wang Hanlin, Deputy Director of OUC’s International Office, moderated the meeting. Also in attendance were Academician Bao Zhenmin, Dean of the College of Marine Life Sciences, Prof. Guan Changlong, Dean of the College of Oceanic and Atmospheric Sciences, and representatives from the Division of Science and Technology, the Division of Development and Planning and the International Office.

The delegation also visited the Institute for Advanced Ocean Study, “Dong Fang Hong 3”research vessel and the Pilot National Laboratory for Marine Science and Technology (Qingdao). Prof. Nils Gunnar Kvamstø delivered an academic report to the faculty and students at the College of Oceanic and Atmospheric Sciences.